Turkish delegation awarded the “Halil Kaya Gedik Memorial Prize” to Lars Johansson, The Deputy Chief Executive of Swedish Welding Commission who had been elected from among the most outstanding experts with highest contributions to the fields of Welding Science, Technology and Training.

Within the whole IIW history; Halil Kaya Gedik Award is the first international prize awarded by Turkey in the fields of welding science and technology.

The Halil Kaya Gedik Award is awarded annually by the International Institute of Welding, sponsored by Gedik Educational Foundation and Gedik University.

Awarded for the first time in 2013, the HALIL KAYA GEDIK AWARD is conferred every year upon a Scientist or Engineer who has made outstanding contributions to welding science and technology, as a tribute to the lifelong contributions of the Turkish entrepreneur and philantropist, Halil Kaya Gedik.

Last year, Japanese scholar Hideyuki Yamamoto was awarded by delegation with highest contributions to the fields of Welding Science and Technology.